How I clean my brushes + DIY Drying Rack!

Hey Beauties it’s Lucia! In today’s post I will be showing you all how I wash my makeup brushes plus an easy DIY method for drying your brushes at the end! It’s recommended to wash your makeup brushes at least once a month but being the lazy person I am, its most likely been a little more than a month. Keeping your brushes clean will however ensure a smooth and flawless makeup application so it’s an important routine to do often. Below is the method I personally find best for washing my brushes…

What you’ll need:

img_4960

  1. Dirty makeup brushes (obviously a must need)
  2. Baby shampoo
  3. Rubber cleaning mat (I purchased mine at Marshall’s but Sigma Beauty sells a similar one. You can also find a cheaper alternative on Amazon!)
  4. Paper towels

*If you don’t want to use a cleaning mat, you can simply swirl the brush in your hand 🙂

I first start off by wetting my mat and adding a small dollop of baby shampoo. I prefer using this type of soap because it’s not as harsh as other soaps and leaves the brushes feeling extra soft when they dry. The cleaning mat I have has a strap on the back so it’s very easy to hold onto while using.

Next, I wet the brush and swirl the brushes gently all over the mat. For larger face brushes, I use the left side where the textured bumps are more spaced out. For eyeshadow brushes I use the right side, where the texture is more clustered. As pictured below, the makeup easily soaks off.

For rinsing I place the mat under a stream of lukewarm water and swirl each brush once again to remove all the soap from the bristles.

IMG_4977.JPG

Before setting them out to dry, I take a fine tooth comb and comb through each individual brush. This allows for any extra gunk to be removed as well as any stray bristles. With a paper towel I wring out any water that may be left.

Now on to the DIY drying rack!

What you’ll need: 

  1. any type of hanger
  2. small rubber bands

This DIY is super super simple and took me about 5-10 minutes! All there really is to it is taking a rubber band per makeup brush and placing it on the bottom line of the hanger. In the picture you can get a better idea of how to arrange the band.

After strapping each brush to the hanger it looked something like this:

While the brushes are hanging, you can take some time to shape the bristles before they completely dry!

Well that’s the end of this post! Thank you all so much for reading and I hope it helped you find a method for washing/drying your makeup brushes! Feedback, advice, and tips are always welcomed!

Love you beauties!

xoxo

 

14 thoughts on “How I clean my brushes + DIY Drying Rack!

Leave a Reply

